In his article on Argument as Conversation Stuart Greene discusses how inquiry affects framing a research question. This article feels incredibly applicable to the type of research I am doing for my inquiry project. I recognized in Greene’s discussions aspects of my own research process. He differentiates “reading as inquiry” from “reading as a search for information” with a question of agenda. When “reading as inquiry” as opposed to “reading as a search for information,” one is not reading with a specific intention in mind. I find that doing my research I am often reading as a search for information. I actually feel like I do that a lot with academic reading and often have to stop myself from just scanning readings for arguments that support my thesis. Greene explains this idea of putting things you read into a specific context as “framing.” You can see examples of framing everywhere, especially in media. New stories are often framed in ways to shock the viewer and thus get more views on the story.

People generally describe a lot of today’s new headlines as “clickbait” because they are framed in ways that make the audience more interested or invested in the topic. Argument as Conversation brings up a lot of key points that I will definitely keep in mind as I continue doing my research, Particularly Greene’s mention of the importance of knowing the arguments on a topic that came before you.I definitely think it will be important for me to research all of the arguments regarding children and television that came before me. I also think, given the discussions from this article, that it is essential to read the arguments on my topic as “inquiry” and not a “search for information” so that I fully digest what they said about the topic. I will definitely keep Greene’s ideas in mind as I continue my Inquiry project research.

