…but they confuse me. And I might lose me.

Why, you ask? Technology in the classroom is a strange strange thing. It happens all the time. Exactly what Sherry Turkle described in the chapter on “Education.” She says what we all feel when “you see someone in your class on Facebook or checking their email, two things cross your mind: Maybe this class is boring, and maybe I, too, should attend to some online business.” (Turkle, 215). I cannot count the number of times this exact scene has happened to me in a classroom. I’ll be paying attention when suddenly I get distracted, and then seemingly out of nowhere, the class is over and I’ve missed a large chunk of material. Did I fall into a black hole? Am I just a bad student? Is it neither of these things? I honestly don’t know. I guess the simple solution would be to stop using my laptop in class, but the real kicker is that I need it. I’m probably worlds slowest hand writer and am at least 7,000 times more efficient when typing. Plus, I think better when I type because I can go so much faster. The only thing I can ever write on paper is poetry because of the way it flows on the page. But classroom notes? No way.

So how do we fix this? I don’t know. But I like that Turkle doesn’t take an extremely bleak point of view on this one. It’s comforting when she says that she doesn’t like to talk about technology as an addiction because “discussing the holding power of technology in these terms makes people feel helpless.” (Turkle, 215). She mentions sites like SelfControl that help you focus on one thing by blocking certain social media sites. I’ve used these before, and find them very helpful. The only problem is, it requires a bit of self control to keep using SelfControl. Now there’s the kicker.

